Crafts with kids – the letter S

The  letter S

I was inspired by this fantastic blog. And since my kids love to do crafts, why not teach them something about letters, reading and writing at the same time!

My 4yo boy already knows the letter. He was introduced to reading and writing at his Montessori daycare using the phonetic method. Yet when I came out with the supplies to create art with the letter S, his eyes lit up!

First, I showed both him and his toddler sister how to trace the letter out with his finger. Watching him do this, it emphasized many things for me that allowed me to further expand my role in helping him reach his reading and writing potential. Things like:

  • He is definitely left-handed. Up until last year he often switched hands, but it is evident now that he will always prefer his left hand to do most things with.
  • He recognizes the letter, can sound it out, and see it in the written word (mostly if the word begins with the letter S), and has for a while.
  • He can think of words that begin with S (sun, snow).
  • He can write it, but it does not remain upright. At this point, crooked, sideways or even upside down, is of no concern to me.

While introducing the letter to them, I said the following:

This is the letter S.
It makes an ssss sound.
Sssss for snake.
What other words begin with Sss?

We then proceeded to create a Snake.

The kids decorated their S with stamps, markers, and stickers. Benjamin tried to write it by tracing it, and by copying it right on the page. I then remembered I had some workbooks I used at the cottage in the summer, so I got one and he continued practicing.

If you have younger children participating, just let them sit there along with the older child. They will amuse themselves as long as the supplies are handy.

A few days later, anxiously waiting for snow that never came, I thought of making another S picture.

Leave a Reply

