Out of sorts

I took this sentence straight from one of Mir’s posts. Sorry, but it’s true.

I’m Out Of Sorts with CAPITAL LETTERS.

Because today, I forgot my child was attending a birthday party.

I am a horrible terrible forgetful out-of-sorts kind of parent who, despite her various technology toys and correctly entering the date of the party into the e-calendar that sends not ONE but TWO reminders, manages to listen to her brain that says “party on Sunday at 11″ when all the concrete evidence points to “party on Saturday at 11″.

My brain is fried.

Thankfully we realized it a half hour into the party and managed to whisk her off, present in hand, to the party where she only missed about 45 minutes of the fun at their house, but still.

Honestly. I don’t know how I’m going to get through the next week.

2 thoughts on “Out of sorts

  1. Wow: you are SO not alone on this and it must have been that kind of weekend: I finagled childcare for one and showed up with gift in hand with the other for a classmate’s party on Sunday. Too bad it’s next Sunday. Like you, all my technology was for naught when I mentally overrode the reminder I purposely set to AVOID THIS VERY THING. I chalk it up to sleep deprivation and the end of a crazy week.

    Luckily, the gracious hosts, who we’ve never met, said, “But since you’re here, do you want to come in for a playdate? We’d love the company.” How nice is that? After I got over my embarrassment, we had a lovely time getting to know each other with a little less commotion than the actual party will likely be, and the boys played relatively well together.

    Optimist’s view: this week can only be better, right? Hang in there!

  2. Oh my. I can only imagine….lol! I commiserate and congratulate on the happy outcome. Sigh. I’m happy to hear this turned out a good thing for you. And unhappy to have taken so long to reply to this comment…my notifications ended up in the SPAM folder. ?? So now I gotta spend time i don’t have to deal with THAT too…
    :)

    Happy pre-holiday season!

Leave a Reply

