Don’t flood the bathroom

Ben is close to 3 years old. So when it’s bath time, I don’t sit with him the entire time. I putter around nearby getting odds and ends done while I listen to him splash about.

On more than one occasion the bathroom floor was completely flooded. And for some reason, asking him not to do it again, and demonstrating how not to do it again, didn’t seem to sink in. (no pun intended)

Then it came to me. Take away a priviledge and see what happens.

“If I see one drop of water on the bathroom floor, no Mighty Machines for you tonight!”

or

“If I see one drop of water on the bathroom floor, no more Smarties!”

Something like that.

Seems to work.

Fast forward to today.

In a rare moment of peace in mid-afternoon, I took advantage and had a bath. The toddler was in his room playing with a fire station I had set up for him earlier, daddy was watching sports with the infant, the dog had been walked, and the dishes/laundry/housework could wait.

At some point while relaxing with a white face mask in the warm bath water, Benjamin comes in. He is very impressed with my little setup.

Then he points to the floor and says “no water on the bafroom floor or no Treehouse for you tonight!”

Ha.

One thought on “Don’t flood the bathroom

Leave a Reply

