Mid-week rants

Who is incompetent here? 

We registered Ben for swimming lesson online with the city. The system of course is complicated. The program at the pool we wanted didn’t come up (we now know why, there’s a problem with mould). So he registered him for one course at another pool, and meant to register him on wait lists on two other ones as backup. The courses of course didn’t end up on the wait lists. They were registered officially and a charge of $28 for each was applied to the credit card. I find out today that in order to cancel you have to send a letter, or fax it which they do not recommend but is acceptable, and a $10 administration fee is applied for each course. On a course that costs $28.

10 bucks! Isn’t that a tad excessive? Ludicrous?? I’m amazed and pissed off.

 * * *

Renovations update 

For some reason, ordering carpeting is really challenging for some people who shall remain nameless. I was given the impression that the order was done and all I had to do was wait for them to call and give us a date for installation.

Well, they called today with the quote. And no, the carpet isn’t ordered till it’s paid in full. And the carpet, once ordered, has to come in from across the border, which takes about a week (which really means two). Then, they’ll call again to see when it’s convenient to install. And how did I want to pay for this? Use the account he opened up? And no, the upgraded underpad isn’t on the order….

I’m confused. My husband normally is quite clean in his instructions. I’m sure he mentioned the underpad upgrade to them. Why wouldn’t he? And they gave him that gift card with the “do not pay for 6 months option” specifically for that purpose. I’m sure he mentioned that he will pay for the carpet that way….and why didn’t they order it right then and there? They extended us all this extra credit we don’t even need, and the guy came to measure the same day he called, so from where I’m sitting they have all the info…so why don’t I have carpeting? And why won’t I have carpeting for another several weeks???

So now he has to go and pay for it. Sometime after work. Or before work. Which may or may not happen today.

I’m not only pissed off, I’m very, very tired of all this shit.

* * *

Last day of toddlerhood 

It’s day 3 of March Break, and the tot is home. Day 1 and day 2 have been busy so it’s been quite good, despite that the weather sucks and the baby is cranky. Tomorrow we have plans at the grandparent’s place because my baby is turning 3 years old (!), and on Friday we’ll be busy coming down from the birthday (decompression? relaxation?). And with preparations for his party at Auntie Ing’s house on Sunday.

But today he’s bored. I took him out for a bit this morning, but now he’s into mischief, a sign of being bored. I ordered him into his room with the door closed till all the toys he threw around the room are put back in their respective boxes or baskets, and he’s coming out every few minutes with excuses.

He needs to make pipi on the potty.
He needs kleenex from the kitchen (he’s got two boxes in his room).
He needs his stuffed toy which he left on the couch…

It’s going to be a long afternoon.

Edited to add: There are now ink stamps all over various places on his walls. And his hands. He knows that stamping is only allowed on paper. Mamma is not happy.

PS. He started cleaning his room because he saw me eat a few smarties. He wanted to know where his snack was. My response was that he will have his snack when the room is tidy.

PPS. The room is not tidy.

* * *

I put my toffee in the freezer because my addiction is getting on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

