Free books

There is a cool recycling/thrift shop company that calls me every few months to say they will be in my area on such and such a date and if I have any clothes or small household items, to put them out on the porch by 8 am on that date.

How easy is that to get rid of stuff? They come to my house and pick it up. I don’t have to lug stuff to the car, drive distances battling traffic to get to the local thrift shop and dump it outside the doors since there is no room inside what with all the other stuff everyone else has dumped there recently.

Just pack it up, mark it with an X, and put it outside your front door.

The only thing is, I’m not sure if they take books, or if they take only a few books at a time. It seems that most of these places take some books. And by some they mean 3. Not 30.

But we are book people. We have lots of books. Most we’re keeping, but a lot are just, you know, done. Read them, liked them, but don’t really feel the need to keep them around. We keep a lot of books around because we re-read some of them, but really, how many books I know I’ll never re-read do I need to keep?

So when we moved the bookcases down into the new basement, we purged. I had about 6, maybe 8 boxes of books we no longer wanted. And they were sitting in the garage or basement or livingroom or wherever else I could place them, where they waited patiently for their doomsday. 

Today I had this nifty idea.

I placed a huge piece of cardboard outside on my front lawn, stuck a small bookshelf on top, and filled it with books from those boxes.

Then I placed a sign in front of it that said

Free books
Leave the shelf please

Our house is on a street which has a lot of foot traffic because a large park is situated steps from it. We get all the neighbourhood, as well as those who drive here to get to the park and beaches, passing our house.

And with the sunny, dry and warm weather finally arriving, I figured, what better way than to get rid of stuff I was planning on donating anyway? Technically I could have done a little garage sale, but really, do I want to haggle over 50 cents with someone about a book I truly don’t want to keep anyway? Let them take the books, let them read.

And they did. Before I unloaded the third box, half the books were already gone, and that at 9 am!

I feel lighter already.

 

2 thoughts on “Free books

Leave a Reply

