Product review – Gulliver Highchair

We used a clip-on chair for the baby so that she could sit with us at mealtimes. She’s been doing this ever since she could hold her head up, usually stuffed with pillows all around her. That’s probably the reason she has such strong back muscles today.

I loved that clip-on chair. I absolutely abhor those plastic contraption highchair things. They’re huge, they’re ugly, and as much as they may serve their purpose, I just could never bring myself to put one in my house. Not that I have room for it anyway, but that’s beside the point.

Many people like to feed their babies reclined. The ugly plastic highchairs have such an option, which facilitates the whole messy mealtimes for the parent handling the food. But the messiness never really bothered me all that much. Sure, there are days when I feel like I will snap their little necks the next time they drop another item on the floor, but mostly I just deal with it. My kids sit straight up at the table and that’s that.

Then I managed to break the clip-on chair. I leaned on it in such a way while cleaning crumbs underneath one of the clips that it snapped off. My bad, and the fact that the chair was about 5 years old and has gone through 3 kids probably didn’t help matters much.

Luckily, my parents had another one, but it had a different clip-on mechanism and didn’t fit our table.

So now I was stuck. Do I stick her in the Bumbo for mealtimes?

She really doesn’t like it much, especially now that she’s soooooo close to crawling. Anything keeping her immobile results in noisy protests which typically last a while.

My solution was to have look at the Ikea Gulliver highchair. I read some reviews and liked the fact that it was sleek, wood (not plastic!), had a straight back, and wasn’t expensive either. And I could push it right up against the table.

Putting it together wasn’t too difficult. But because I did it myself, the leveling of the legs was more than a little frustrating. Somehow I just couldn’t get all 4 legs to be flush with the floor. I tried taking it apart and putting it back together a few times, doing it the reverse from the instructions once as well, and still, it appeared like one leg was maybe half a cm too short. Given that our Sonja is rather fond of rocking, I couldn’t risk having her sit in that chair, even with the belt on, if the legs weren’t completely flush with the floor.

Having said that, once her daddy showed up, we managed, together, to get the legs to fit right. There is no rocking, sliding or any movement at all now, and she’s happy as a clam sitting in that thing at mealtimes.

I recommend that two adults put the chair together in order to save a lot of frustration. Following the instructions was not difficult, nor was the actual putting it together. But having that second set of adult hands help with the legs was, at least in our case, essential.

Leave a Reply

