How to dispose of used tissues and other rants

Currently, we have stacks and stacks of this in our house:

kleenexbox

Perhaps it’s time to buy stock in this company.

Anyway, as I’m sneezing away, I’m constantly nagging the 3yo to PUT THE USED TISSUE in the compost and not LEAVE IT LYING AROUND FOR THE BABY TO SUCK ON already.

He forgets. Or is too lazy or sick to walk to the kitchen compost container.

So I invented a new method for tissue disposal.

When you empty out a box of kleenex, keep it next to the new, full box. Upon sneezing and wiping your icky nose, simply dispose of the used tissue into the empty box. It’s right there beside the full one.

He does that.

So now we have a box of full and a box of used tissues strategically placed on every hard surface high enough to be out of reach of the tot.

* * *

I’m having some difficulties getting into the Xmas spirit. Firstly, because the tree’s been up since early December. I never do the decorating that early, but Benjamin was so excited about it that I indulged him. Now, I’m sick of looking at the cramped space in my livingroom because our pretty tree is taking up so much space. And that’s without any presents under it yet!

Secondly, we’ve been baking cookies. I don’t like baking, and I especially dislike baking Xmas cookies. And now with the preschooler, we have to put colourful sprinkles on them…blah. I don’t like candy-type cookies. He likes them even more so…

I’d rather drink wine. Or eat these:

weinbrandtbohnen

Yum.

Thirdly, my aunt in Switzerland sent us a Xmas card that MAKES MUSIC. Benjamin loves it. He carries the card around the house, leaves it opened up in front of his stuffed toys, and lets the toy cars “look” at the funky little red light inside the card. It plays, too fast if you ask me, “Santa Claus is coming to town” and “We wish you a merry Xmas” incessantly. Over and over again.

Bah humbug.

2 thoughts on “How to dispose of used tissues and other rants

  1. Oh, I hate those christmas cards……..and i hate used tissues and I hate this christmas decoration from september onwards.
    But I like to see the happy eyes of the children and to observe their impatience:
    noch 8 mal schlafen, dann ist Heiliger Abend!

Leave a Reply

