Rooibos tea

Also known as red tea, or red bush tea, the first time I came across this Rooibos tea was in a book by an author I adore to read:

Alexander McCall Smith

His No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series is asolutely joyful to read. His main character, Precious Ramotswe, was constantly brewing this tea. It made me wonder about it, but I never bothered to look into it.

Lately however, we’ve been on a bit of a health kick. Not that we aren’t normally conscious of what we eat. We focus on eating a mostly whole food diet, with few processed or refined items on the menu. We never buy fat-reduced items, but we do try to stick to whole grains as much as possible.  

Unfortunately, some bad habits do prevail. There’s coffee…and chocolate…and that lovely glass of wine with dinner….

The point is, we keep it in check, the bad habits I mean. At the same time, it can’t hurt to increase healthier choices whenever possible.

But living in a place in Canada where winter has decided to grace us a tad longer (just stop teasing us with all this warmth if you’re going to send us another deepfreeze for crying out loud!), keeping warm with a healthy drink is constantly on my mind.

So I picked up some of this red tea I keep hearing about.

Naturally caffeine free, Rooibos tea it is chock full of antioxidants. It’s also supposed to help reduce nervous tension.

Great! I got some of that today…

I decided to taste it without milk, sugar or lemon. Just by itself. And it tastes fine. Even though I’m not a big tea fan, I can drink it without stuff in it. Wonder if I can make it a habit…

Maybe it’s time to re-visit the Java in Javamom.

One thought on “Rooibos tea

  1. I enjoyed the read but if you smoke marijuana and find that you are becoming tired and de motivated and you do not want to quit using marijuana. Try vaporizing your marijuana and you will get more a of a clean headed high buzz.

    Like tobacco, marijuana smoke contains toxins that are known to be hazardous to the respiratory system. Among them are the highly carcinogenic polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons, a prime suspect in cigarette-related cancers. These toxins are essentially a byproduct of combustion, separate from the pharmaceutically active components of marijuana, known as cannabinoids, which include THC. When you burn marijuana it produces quite a lot of tar. Pipes and joints generally do not have proper filters. Bongs are not the answer, because you inhale concentrated smoke.

    The vaporizer certainly reduces the level of tar. You will not have to worry about the harmful carcinogens your body is absorbing when you inhale marijuana smoke.

    I will suggest 2 places that I use the first one is Legal Bud!

    The second suggestion I have is Gass City!

Leave a Reply

