But I don’t LIKE this dinner!

One day I made turkey for dinner. With potatoes and squash, cranberry sauce and salad.

The 4yo wants to know what we’re having for dinner.

“But I don’t like turkey! And I don’t like squash!”

I was not in the mood to deal with the varying responses that are required as part of my parently duties during a situation like this, so I open the fridge, notice some leftover pasta, and heat it up for him.

We sit down at the table. On the table is a large platter full of turkey, potatoes, squash and cranberry sauce.

Everyone helps themselves.

The 4yo sits down, looks at the plate of pasta in front of him, looks at the toddler’s pasta-less plate in front of her, and then looks at the platter of food.

Tears well up in his eyes.

“But, but, I want to try some of THAT too”, he wails.

I hand him a serving spoon.

He has two plates full of everything except the squash.

Sigh.

2 thoughts on “But I don’t LIKE this dinner!

Leave a Reply

