Swiss Christmas cookies

I baked these cookies and then fooled around with my camera to present them in a somewhat interesting fashion. I’m nowhere near the ability of my friend who not only has an eye for this type of thing, but who also has more professional equipment, and experience. Not to mention a couple of blogs (see here and here). But she lives next door and gives me tips on both the cooking/baking and the photography….and she samples my stuff.

I baked Chrabeli, Haselnut-chocolate stars called Nussknusperli, and jam-filled sandwich cookies called Spitzbuben. (Yep, that’s all Swiss-German.)

The Chrabeli are a very dry cookie filled with eggs, confection sugar, and anis-seed.

The haselnut stars I sort of invented myself by combining a couple of different recipes, and adding the chocolate chip in the centre. Nuss (nut) Knusperli (crispies) are a hit with the kids around here.

Spitzbuben are buttery cookies filled with jam. My mom always made them into rings, but hearts, or stars, are just as easy (and appropriate for Christmas). These are a favourite with the husband and his side of the family.

The recipes I got out of a cook book my aunt sent me years ago, by Betty Bossi.

4 thoughts on “Swiss Christmas cookies

  1. I made the Zimsterne cookies using the link you suggested. They were good but I can’t be sure they turned out right. Are they supposed to be crisp? I also let the meringue frosting get too much colour but my crew ate them all.

    If I did them again I might try the recipe variation I saw where you leave the dough to dry overnight and then cook them for 30 mins at extremely low temperature. This would probably prevent the white frosting from colouring at all.

    I just love baking cookies at Christmas. It’s not a very big tradition in Australia (because of the heat) but they make a big impression. I also made these

    http://www.coles.com.au/portals/0/content/pdf/christmas/MoreFestiveTreats/CandyCaneChipCookies.pdf

    and these

    http://www.joyofbaking.com/IceboxCookies.html

    YUMMY !!!

  2. Kindred Spirit:

    I think my Zimtstern cookies didn’t turn out right this year either. The white frosting was not exactly white. Perhaps letting them dry for a bit and then bake them in the oven on very low heat is the better deal. Perhaps next year….they tasted alright though!

    Your other cookies look really yummy too. I’m not a candy cane fan but the kids are, perhaps I’ll try those next year!

    Elisa: nice to know the traditions live on on THIS side of the pond!

  3. Dear Javamom,

    My name is Jean-Christophe Barré and I work for Lexiophiles, the language and culture blog of the bab.la language portal.

    I would like to invite you to be part of our third edition of “The International Recipe Advent Calendar”. This calendar includes the best Christmas recipes from all over the world and will be shared with all Lexiophiles readers through our blog. We will publish one recipe a day from December 1 to 24, including a link to your blog. You can check out last year‘s calendar here:
    http://www.lexiophiles.com/english/international-recipe-advent-calendar-2010

    What do you need to do? Just let me know that you are participating and send me the link to your favourite Christmas dish in English (I will be glad to translate it if you require any help!). You are welcome to use an existing recipe but (even better!) also to share a brand-new recipe with the readers.

    If you need further information please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Best regards,

    Jean-Christophe

Leave a Reply

