Quinoa salad for sugerless days

The family in the fishbowl is doing a sugar-free challenge.

Too bad I didn’t come across this until AFTER I baked home-made chocolate chip cookies…

Really, the idea of reducing ones sugar intake, in its various forms (glucose, artificial sweeteners, corn syrup, etc) is never a bad idea. I know this for a fact, since I battled with Hypoglycemia for some time. Even white-flour goods, and wine, affected my blood sugar levels, since once consumed these ingredients turned to sugar quickly inside the body. A cookie, for example, would give me a burst of energy, and then my blood sugar would tumble down and I would experience a crash that required immediate napping.

This was impossible to deal with once the kids came along. Ever try to nap when babies or toddlers don’t want to?

Eating a whole food diet has changed me. I am no longer hypoglycemic, and I can enjoy the odd treat, and glass of wine. We love to cook, we cook with real food, we grow some of our food right here in our little urban backyard, and we do add sugar to certain items. Although honey, or maple syrup, can add incredible flavour boosts to ordinary recipes. Have you ever tried to add maple syrup to your spaghetti sauce? So yum.

In light of all this healthy eating, I thought I’d post a recipe we are enjoying this week. I had this Quinoa salad for lunch today.

 

Quinoa salad


Quinoa salad

Cook quinoa grains according to directions. Let cool.

In a bowl, toss together:

  • chopped tomato and Swiss Chard leaves (young ones are less tough)
  • touch of sea salt
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Tbsp lemon juice

Substitutions and Variations

Instead of Swiss Chard you can add spinach, or an herb such as flat leaf parsley, cilantro, mint or basil.

You can also add cucumber, finely chopped fennel, and onion.

Leave a Reply

