New year, new blogging challenges

I noticed that other bloggers, especially this one, have a similar train of thought as I do. The difference is she’s already doing so many thing that I am not with her blog. A blog that has people coming back time and again.

But based on what she says in that post, I feel kind of like her with my blogging. All over the map. The cyber map, that is. I use this blog to talk to myself mostly, and when I do check the site stats, I don’t see a particularly interesting result. Sometimes I get huge hits, mostly I don’t. Sometimes I get a comment or two, mostly I don’t.

Should I change my blog? Should I focus on it more from a business perspective? If I do, will I have to stop treating it as a scratch pad? Why would I bother if I do make changes? No one I know gets rich from blogging the way that I, and the bloggers I follow, blog.

The bottom line is that I feel a change is necessary, but I don’t know what that change should be. Or how to incorporate it when I do make the change, should I suddenly have a revelation (while in the shower or in the middle of the night).

A part of me feels like this new year will bring interesting and challenging changes. A part of me feels like I will tread water another year.

All I know is that I need a place to put my thoughts, and that is what I have done with Javaline.

 

4 thoughts on “New year, new blogging challenges

  1. I guess it really depends on what you want from the blog. Fame and recognition? Resume fodder? Revenue?

    The three things previous are the only ones for which traffic really matters. For personal satisifaction and relationship building, I suspect your doing just fine.

    I’m curious to see how this resolves itself for you.

  2. Andrea – thank you! I’m letting things rattle around in my head for a bit, I’m all over the place with my thoughts lately.

    Miche – I am as curious as you are! lol We’ll see where my focus will take me. Thank you for the encouragement!

  3. I have decided that my blog is for me. I enjoy the writing (it is pretty cathartic for me to relive experiences with the hindsight perspective), but at the same time, I want to make sure that my writing is being read. While it is for me, I also want it to be something I can share with others.

    I decided that if my blog isn’t primarily for me, then I probably won’t do it. I have plenty of things in my life that can take up my time, but I find that I get pleasure from having 10-15 people stalk me each day I post something. It is kind of flattering to know that my writing means enough to someone to get them to read it.

    Take the time to sit down and write (offline) on why you want to blog. When I write with a specific purpose like this, I learn as I try to get my ideas down in some kind of coherent fashion. I expect that the same would be true to you.

Leave a Reply

