Raising voices

It seems I raise my voice a lot.

Then I wonder why the the kids in this house are always yelling…

So this week I will challenge myself to physically walk over to someone and talk to them in a normal voice. Each and every time.

Can I do it? Even if it means I will not be able to sit down for more than 30 seconds at a time?

Today is Monday. The kids are still asleep. When they are up at least one of them will go downstairs to whack a ball around with a hockey stick. Instead of standing at the top of the steps and yelling downstairs to come up for some reason, I could, theoretically, walk downstairs and tell him in a normal voice what I wish, or better yet, expect him to do.

Or, alternatively, I could apprehend him from going downstairs, or at least give him a time limit.

Breakfast will be served at x time…that only gives you 4 minutes to play down there. Will you be able to remember to come up in 4 minutes?

I don’t know if this will work…time will tell.

But I am tired of raising my voice.

Edited to add: This little challenge will at the very least increase my exercise level, and that is not a bad thing at all.

Leave a Reply

