Chili con carne with homemade corn bread

We are once again experiencing the most glorious fall weather. Sunshine abounds and temperatures are pleasant. I soak up the warmth as much as possible because we all know Canadian winters always arrive at some point…

But last weekend was gloomy and cool. Wet with lots of rain and gray like a November’s day. The perfect day to make chili.

Everyone has a favorite chili recipe. I like mine with heat and spice, but the kids like it milder, so I add my hot peppers to my individual bowl rather than include it in the crock pot.

But this time, I wanted to place corn bread on top of my steamin’ chili. Only I had no corn flour (which is different from corn meal). I did have a huge bag of corn meal though.

Corn meal is coarser, and the Italians call it polenta. I went to Mr. Google to find a recipe of corn bread made with corn meal and found many. I strive for simple, and straight forward, and found one I was willing to try, although it mentioned vegetable oil, which I am not a fan of when it comes to baking. So, I adjusted it slightly, and replaced the oil with slightly less of the indicated amount of cold, unsalted butter.

I’m happy with the results and will make this recipe again.

Full post about this corn bread can be found here.

Basic Corn Bread

1 cup corn meal
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/3 vegetable oil (or replace with cold, unsalted butter)
1 egg

Preheat the oven to 400.

Combine dry ingredients in one bowl, wet ingredients in another. Combine the two and mix until just blended. Pour into greased pan. Use and 8 x 8 pan if you like it fairly (2 to 3 inches) thick or 13 x 9 pan if you like it thin. I used a 13 x 9 pan for the loaf pictured here, which produced a 1 inch thick loaf.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove and serve while still warm.

Leave a Reply

