Simple mini apple tarts…

Javamom’s mini apple tarts

I had some soft apples lying around. So I chopped them up and put them in a pot half filled with water. The soft pear I had lying around got chopped up too and added to the apples.

Then I steamed the fruit for 25 minutes or so, and placed in a dish and left to cool, uncovered, on the counter.

I didn’t have time to bake that day so I covered the cooled down fruit and left it in the fridge until today (a few days later). This morning, I took out a package of frozen prepared mini tart shells and filled them with a mixture of ground almonds, butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. Each tart was filled about half, and topped with the drained apple-pear mixture. Some of the leftover tarts I filled all the way up to the top with the ground almond mixture.

I baked the tarts for about 25 minutes in a 375 F degree oven and the results was delicious!

Almond Filling

Ground almonds
melted unsalted butter
brown sugar
cinnamon

Tip: You can mix the nuts up if you like, or use slivered or shaved almonds on top for decorations. You can also add raisins if you like.

My boy ate one and declared it delicious…and I particularly liked the smell of cinnamon in my house during baking.

Welcome Autumn!

Leave a Reply

