Blissful alone-time

Back when I was a first-time mom, my friend and I, also a first-time mom, went together to the One of a Kind Christmas Show pushing strollers of adorable babies.

I remember fondly what it was like, to be a mom on maternity leave (sort of, I wasn’t employed when I was pregnant), and the new experiences I embarked on six-ish years ago.

Then came the second child, and I don’t remember much about going to Christmas craft shows after she arrived. There was renovations, no job for me, new job for him, no money, delays, and too much stuff. Last thing I wanted to do was go look at beautiful things I couldn’t afford to have that I wanted to buy with money I didn’t have.

Fast forward to a couple of years ago.

My mother arrived on a morning during early December and sent me on my merry way. “I’ll pick up the girl for lunch, you go and have a nice time at the show”, she said to me.

So I did.

I never looked back.

I genuinely look forward to wandering around a Christmas craft show full of hand-made, local (Canadian) items by myself. Sure, I sometimes take a chance and suggest to a friend or other family member to come and join me, but I am not heartbroken if it doesn’t work out.

I genuinely enjoy walking around by myself. I stop when I want, I buy what I want, I look at what I want, I sit when I want, I eat what and when I want.

It’s luxury. Pure bliss.

And the show is better every year. The artists and their crafts…so unbelievably gorgeous.

This coming Wednesday I will be making my trek east again to the show, and hope to spend part of my birthday money on something I really want to have and don’t really need. And perhaps some lucky people on my list will also receive a token of my appreciation from the show in the form of a Christmas present. Might as well get into the spirit of the season and shop there, rather than at the mall.

One thought on “Blissful alone-time

Leave a Reply

