The pros and cons of colouring your hair at home

I have a problem. I am greying on only one side of my head.

Well that’s not entirely true. I have some grey on the other side but not so much so that I would need to colour my hair to hide it.

My left side of my head is, or would be if I let it, white. White and grey in varying shades.

Weird.

My mother has coloured her hair at home since before I can even remember. She took after her dad who was white basically since he was an adult.

I started greying in my 30s but didn’t colour my hair till my late 30s and now, in my mid-40s, I have to make the effort every six weeks.

The pros of colouring one’s hair at home with a store-bought box is of course the cost. For a person like me who wears her hair long-ish, it’s quite a bit cheaper to simply take a morning when everyone is out of the house and dedicate that time to colouring my hair.

The other pro is convenience. I can sit, walk, or do an errand (clean the sink or toilet for example) while the colour does its thing on my head. I can pay bills. I can do stuff…but then other things happen and the cons suddenly appear to be more prevalent.

The biggest con is probably the mess. We have a tiny bathroom with a white sink, white tile and a white door. The door is open when I do the hair colouring because the fumes are quite strong (and sometimes in the depth of winter the window is frozen shut). So the door is directly behind me when I apply the colour. It never fails that a certain amount of colour splatters on the door. Sometimes I don’t even see it right away and by the time I do the stain is so set there is no way of cleaning it up, even with an entire bottle of bleach.

The mess also translates onto my skin. I have to diligently wipe away all the visible stains I can see when looking into the mirror immediately after the colour has been applied, and then make the effort to reach spots behind my head, like the neck, back of arms, etc.

(I mentioned my hair is long. This causes the odd strand of coloured hair to colour parts of my upper body, which in the summer time when I wear tank tops makes me look like I have odd-shaped freckles or moles all over my torso).

The entire thing is annoying.

As I type this I sit here with freshly coloured (and still wet) hair. My bathroom door has a gigantic longish stain on the wall which, to the untrained eye, may look like smeared poop.

haircolourstain

I called DH up from downstairs to show him what happens when I do this at home, and announced that we’ll have to find somewhere an extra 60 bucks (or however much it costs) every six weeks or so to get my hair coloured at the salon.

Because I AM DONE with home hair colour systems.

2 thoughts on “The pros and cons of colouring your hair at home

  1. Are there any cosmetology schools near you? If you schedule an appointment, you get to be the live practice head for an aspiring student stylist, but usually they don’t let them work on real people until they’re pretty proficient anyway. It may not be perfect but it will likely be cheaper and get the job done. Also saw this: http://www.redbookmag.com/beauty-fashion/tips-advice/diy-hair-color#slide-1 (coloring mousse that puffs us so no drip?!)

    You may already do petroleum jelly to protect your hairline, ears and neck from stains, but a stylist’s cape from a beauty supply store keeps your arms free to work but protects your upper body, and strategically placed/clipped junk/dark colored towels might help protect your door, sink and floor.

    I relax my hair at home, which shocks some people, but when you compare $100 or more at a salon vs. a box for $6.99 and a few beauty store tools, the decision is pretty easy.

    • You know what, we do have a hair salon school near where we live, the college next door to us sends their students there to ‘experiment’, if I could use that word in this context. πŸ™‚ That’s a great tip, thanks so much for thinking of it!

Leave a Reply

