Growing greens in February

Winter has been long and cold. I long for some greenery.

growing_greens

February here in Canada is considered the depth of winter. After the January we’ve had though, I don’t think it can get any worse…The polar vortex, the ice, the snow, yet another issue with the furnace, it has taken a toll on my sense of humour. We’re more than just a little fed up.

But the last few days have been more bearable with seasonal temperatures, which had Sonja and I go down to the lake. Imagine, we went outside ON PURPOSE for a recreational walk! How utterly unusual.

February day by the lake

The sun made me think about how much I miss being outside. Even though it’s not that cold out it’s still kind of tricky to negotiate the ice chunks, the slush, and the endless road salt everywhere. Everything is covered in salt stains. I tried to get to the car wash the other day because the windows were beyond dirty, but the lineup was so long and I just didn’t feel like hanging around.

So then one day I started chopping some carrots. One of the yellow heirloom ones had sprouted a little bit of greenery on the top, and that made me think of spring, and gardening season, so I put the piece of carrot top into a tiny shot glass filled halfway with water. And it grew! I think I’ll grow some more for the poor, stuck-indoors-more-than-people guinea pig. He’ll love to nibble on some fresh greens, I think.

carrot_top_leaves

Today I was chopping yellow beets. I decided to keep the tops too, and placed those in water as well. Will it work? Time will tell.

growing beet tops

3 thoughts on “Growing greens in February

  1. I have also been able to grow green onions and celery like this. The celery I chopped off the bottom end and put in a cup of water.

    The green onions I used the green part, and planted the roots with some white part straight into dirt, and they grew very well. You can keep cutting the green parts off as they grow, and they last for months. Not sure how guinea pigs feel about onion flavor, but they make a nice green addition to people food.

    • Jenny, you just gave me an idea! Parsley comes with roots attached sometimes…I think I will do that with parsley too! And the celery part I knew about as well since I grew it in the garden, and usually just chopped off the tender greens in the middle. Great tips! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

  2. Cool…and so spring-like! Makes me feel cheery, although I will not be trying this as my house is the place where all plants come to die spectacular, horrible deaths. Frankly I’m surprised I have been able to keep the children alive.

    Did you get your new furnace yet? How is it working out?

Leave a Reply

