Morning lists, and other drivel

Did I mention we are going to renovate this house? Well, we are now talking MAJOR, as in second story on top of bungalow. (Talking, not confirmed.)

Did I mention my kid is getting recruited by at least two (as far as I know) coaches from Single A hockey? He’s not even 9 yet…but, at the same time, if this reno will happen, not sure if we need to rush his, um, professional development in hockey just yet. Won’t be able to afford that and a new house…

Did I mention the polar vortex is causing my house to look like a pigsty? Or, rather, a college dorm room? BLAH.

Did I mention my first born is almost 9? Less than two weeks, and I will have a tween on my hands. I am looking forward to it. I think. Maybe. Knockonwood. He’s a great kid, and will only get greater as time goes on. Yep. That is the story I’m sticking to right now.

Did I mention that grade 3 is causing me grey hair? And wrinkles? And digestive problems? I have a meeting with the teacher tonight, see if he can clarify some of my confusion. Perhaps I will post something along the lines again, perhaps not. But school is always on my mind, and not in a good way. SIGH.

Now, to lighten the mood, I have two little lists my 6 year old wrote to show you.Ā  I am one of those parents who does it wrong…I repeat myself too many times, and then I turn into a drill sargent, or shepherd, or something like that, all in the name of getting those two monkeys out of the house and to school on time. The deep freeze hasn’t helped as some days it is too cold to walk the five blocks, which we really miss because a walk to school helps to burn some of their energy…but alas, winter decided to stick around for a while, so we’ll just have to wing it. But Sonja, hearing me complain about how often I have to say the same thing each morning, went and wrote two lists of things to do before school. They are posted below for your enjoyment.

Morning list by 6 year old for herselfMorning list by 6 year old for her 8 year old brother

2 thoughts on “Morning lists, and other drivel

  1. So much news! Kay first, I really hope you do the reno because it sounds like your house is due for a reworking (plus I am TOTALLY addicted to home makeover shows now, and would love to live vicariously through yours – tip: check to make sure all floors are level before proceeding).

    Actually, another reno aside – another blog I read (a peek inside the fishbowl by andrea – quietfish.com/notebook) did a huge reno project last year, when they had a two story extension built onto her house. She’s in Ottawa so the advice isn’t directly related but she did a whole series of posts on how to find a good architect, how to know what you want, etc. that might be useful.

    Second: hockey! It feels early to me too for recruitment. On the other hand, THAT IS AWESOME that he has found something he loves and apparently is super good at. ROCK ON!

    Third: polar vortexes SUCK, and my house is a disaster, and I would prefer to not leave the house until spring now, thank you.

    Fourth: lists! Adorable. I like how Sonja has given herself a ton of jobs to do and then nicely goes off to school, while her brother gets to stay home and bum around! She’s a good sister :).

  2. LOL about the lists! She actually spends most of the morning CONSULTING the list rather than DOING the tasks on the list, but hey….she’s my kinda girl!

    I am a regular to Andrea’s fishbowl. She is the first blog I ever discovered and have been visiting and connecting with since Ben was a baby. šŸ™‚

    Architects coming tomorrow. Blog fodder? Maybe! Will definitely check in with the reno posts again…and yep, floors. We were lucky, our basement was completely straight, ready for subfloor. There rest of the house they will gut if we go ahead and then I’ll be back to take pictures regularly to make sure they’re doing it right.

    Thanks for stopping by Lynn!

Leave a Reply

