Summer vacation started on Friday at 3:15 pm and it’s been a pretty good start so far. We had tennis lessons, a birthday party, a visit or two, and we set up the backyard pool and a new canopy for shade over the picnic table. Which is where I’m sitting right now typing…this, ladies and gents, is my new office.

046

*LOVE*

The kids want to be plugged in and we let them, one more than the other only because the other prefers to swim in our pool more than click around on Minecraft all day, and that’s been fine. He’ll get a certain amount of restrictions after he’s had a chance to decompress with his electronic toys…my little chicklet is currently splashing in the pool while I type and supervise her water antics, making cute little singsong-y noises which is a big difference from the previous noises which were loud and obnoxious when her brother was in the pool also…

I blinked. Never mind. Bliss shall return…

July is a busy work week for DH who has to do vacation coverage. He’ll be off all of August and we’ll do a bit of traveling then. In the meantime, I plan on purging the house more since we now officially have hired a firm to design our new renovations, with some minor adjustments from the previous plan.

There will be no second story…but there will be a redesign of the main floor. In three weeks or so we will have a sample of three different blueprints with options to choose from. This is both exciting and terrifying…oh my. But the time has come.  It’s now or never.

That garage/shed behind the canopy in the picture above is desired to be torn down and re-built. We hope to fit that into the current budget as it would help immensely with seasonal storage…if I can get that stuff out of the basement it will open up closet space for things like larger clothing (growing kids and all that) and assorted older-kid toys.

SIGH.

When I click around on my blog roll to see who’s posting, it seems almost like no one is doing much of it regularly. Summer is a time to reflect, focus on other things, let ideas rattle around in the brain…I have many a blog post sitting in my draft folder I started and never completed because the endless drivel I come up with interests no one but me. And even I’m kinda meh about this stuff of late.

So I’ll sign off and wish everyone a happy, relaxing summer vacation. School and hockey season is not far away, and you know it’ll arrive before you can say ‘you’re skates don’t fit anymore’….

Happy Summer!

 

2 thoughts on “

  1. LOVE your new outdoor office – it looks just perfect for sitting with a laptop and a lemonade. I find I really do slow down the blogging in the summer – these past few years I’ve barely found time to check in a couple of times over the summer. If it wasn’t for Dance Show!, I’m sure I’d be completely AWOL. The older I get, the more I find I appreciate summer and hate winter – so in the summertime, I go completely into summer brain mode, where I can barely do anything but lie out on the patio and occasionally suggest to the children that they not kill each other. It’s a hard life :).

    I’d love to hear more about the reno though, when the blueprints come in!

    • Renos stress me out and they haven’t even started yet. 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to comment. Since I’ve put curtains on my outdoor office I’ve sat out there more often!

Leave a Reply

