The thing about cooking

The thing about cooking is that you can do it anywhere. You can cook in your kitchen, which is where most people prepare their meals, or you can cook outside on a bbq. You can cook over an open fire, in a trailer, in a miniscule condo kitchen or a gigantic Martha Stewart-type custom kitchen. You can cook at the cottage, which could be an elaborately spaced cooking facility or a teensy cabin with electricity coming from a generator. You can also do it at someone else’s house or at a communal kitchen. You can even cook in a restaurant kitchen, or you can cook in your very own microwave oven if you really want to (but don’t do that. Maybe you can warm up something you cooked earlier in there…)

Point is, cooking nourishes not only the soul, but also the body. Besides, it almost seems like those huge, magazine-inspired, colour-coordinated kitchens that everyone drools over rarely are being cooked in. Those mansions I pass on the way to my parents’ house, they don’t look inhabited…they look empty and forlorn. I’ve been in a kitchen liked that once or twice and I’m not convinced one needs that much space or fancy equipment (says the chick whose kitchen cupboards are falling apart…sniff).*

*There is renovation news but it’s not…interesting. So I’ll bitch post about that another time.

For many families, cooking is an endless task. Food is a constant preoccupation. So today, because I know that the rest of the week is busy and the weekend full of hockey, I decided to pre-cook Thanksgiving dinner.

002

I never made stuffing before, but I’ve tasted various ones, and the bread stuffing is my favorite. I started with day old organic multi-grain buns from Tatsu’s Bakery, and tossed the chopped pieces with butter and thyme from my garden.

Next, I tossed bacon, celery and two types of sage from my garden in a cast-iron pan. Will freeze this until I need to mix it with the bread and bake later.

003

Also, I always make cranberry sauce from scratch. I eat that stuff by the tablespoons, soooo good! Simply toss a bit of water with the fresh berries, a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar, some orange juice and the rind of half an orange (zest), and simmer until thick and delicious. At the end I sometimes add a splash of some type of alcoholic beverage: Grand Marnier, or Port, or maybe a bit of brandy.

cranberry sauce

The turkey remains in his domain, because…

Um…yeah. Speaking of which, I’m outa white wine.

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend!

Leave a Reply

