Hair genes

My mother’s hair turned white when she was in her mid 20s. She has coloured her hair for as far back as I can remember.

Her father has always had white hair. Even when he was young. I know this because there are a few pictures of him when my mom was a child, and he had white hair.

My brother’s hair turned salt-and-pepper when he was in his mid 20s. He is 4 years younger than I am.

I lost a LOT of hair after both pregnancies were finally over. So much hair, I had to brush with my head hanging upsidedown over the tub so I could collect it afterwards and throw it in the garbage.

Because if I DIDN’T do it that way, all the hair would end up on the floor, and then on the bottom of someone’s slipper, and then mix with the doghair, and then end up on the furniture or the bedsheets or the baby’s toys and irritate me to no end causing me to rampage around the house with my funky Miele vacuum cleaner all day.

But anyway.

So now that all that incessant, insane brushing is practically over, the lost hair is growing back in.

Which is fine except for the fact that it’s growing in white.

WHITE.

Not grey. Not a few stands of white.

ALL of it is white.

So now I look a little bit like a crooked skunk.

Because apparently my hair loss didn’t happen evenly all over my head, but in spots all over the place.

This really isn’t a surprise exactly since I did have a few strands of white here and there prior to both babies being born. But to be quite frank, it is a little bit shocking, seeing such a large amount of white hair growing back in clumps.

Then again, I’m in my late 30s, so maybe I have my father’s genes. He didn’t turn white till he was in his late 50s or early 60s.

Or maybe I have my maternal grandmother’s genes. HER hair is still mostly brown and she’s 90 and a half for pete’s sake!

Either way, I’m going to be colouring my hair now.

Leave a comment